Meet our clients: Kaan Demirag

Meet our client: Kaan Demirag

Age: 36
Located in: Turkey
Has been horse riding since: 8 years old
Horses stabled in Baarlo: Le Jeune & Forlan
Horses stabled in Istanbul: Diva & Dento
Jumps at: 1.35m level

Kaan Demirag has been a client with Carpe Diem Equestrian Team for over two years. The entrepreneur divides his time between his business and family in Istanbul and his horses in the Netherlands and Turkey.

How did your relation with Carpe Diem start?
“I started riding at the age of eight until I was thirteen. Then my education took priority and I had a long break from horse riding. When I turned 26 I decided it was time to start again. At that time I was training with Avni Atabek and me and Efe became great friends. That’s how it all started.”

What are your experiences with Carpe Diem?
“They love the sport as much as I do. And I know when I am in Turkey my horses are well cared for back in Holland. They are trained by the Carpe Diem riders and when I visit I can take them to shows and enjoy the sport. The shows are planned around my schedule and whenever I am there I have fun riding and hanging out with the team.”

What have you learned at Carpe Diem?
“Over the past 2 years I have improved from 1.20m level to 1.35m level. Competing at international shows brings a new dimension to the sport. The best part about it, is that there is always a new challenge. In other sports that I do, like tennis, boxing, windsurfing and skiing the challenge is different. There is not per say a new target, but with showjumping there is. Every class and new course tests my ability as a rider and challenges me. There is never a dull moment.”

What makes Carpe Diem so special?
“There is no place like it. The atmosphere is warm and friendly it feels like my second home. Everything you see at the stables in Baarlo and everything the team does is of high quality, enabling clients to perform to the best of their ability.”

What can we expect in the future from you?
“I enjoy riding my horses in Holland, but also in Turkey. I want to divide my time between show jumping, my family and friends and also the family business. For me coming to Holland is like a mini vacation and if I am able to continue improving, it is the best of both worlds.”